THAT ONE SONG: THE WHO – Baba O’Riley

Baba O’Riley” is a song written by Pete Townshend for the English rock band The Who. Roger Daltrey sings most of the song, with Pete Townshend singing the middle eight: “Don’t cry/don’t raise your eye/it’s only teenage wasteland”. The title of the song is derived from this combination of the song’s philosophical and musical influences: Meher Baba and Terry Riley.
Noted for its innovative fusion of The Who’s hard rock sound and early electronic music experimentation by Townshend, and for its crashing chorus coupled with repeating F-C-B♭ power chords, the song has been a perennial favorite on classic rock radio stations as well as a concert staple for the band.

Out here in the fields
I fight for my meals
I get my back into my living.

I don’t need to fight
To prove I’m right
I don’t need to be forgiven.
yeah,yeah,yeah,yeah,yeah

Don’t cry
Don’t raise your eye
It’s only teenage wasteland

Sally, take my hand
We’ll travel south cross land
Put out the fire
And don’t look past my shoulder.

The exodus is here
The happy ones are near
Let’s get together
Before we get much older.

Teenage wasteland
It’s only teenage wasteland.
Teenage wasteland
Oh, yeah
Its only teenage wasteland
They’re all wasted!

GRACIAS :: FOLLOW US ON TWITTER TOO! @danielaferrari for any requests: danielaferraricouture@hotmail.com VISIT THE SHOWROOM! LIEJA #28 ENTRE AV CHAPULTEPEC Y HAMBURGO DETRAS DEL HOTEL FOUR SEASONS MEXICO CITY

